Faith in Love

I stood near the large oak tree, gazing at the ocean,
Listening to the crashing of the waves far below,
There on that cliff, I questioned so many things,
I wondered if those things would ever be answered,
Yet he came…he came to me in my deepest woe,
And he stood beside me near the large oak tree,
Watching and waiting for a sign of sorts,
How he knew may never be fully understood,

And I turned to him with tears in my eyes,
My eyes met with his, such blue eyes he had,
I wanted to speak but my throat was shut tight,
So I stood there and whimpered softly,
And he stepped forward, surely he understood,
He stood next to me, an arm draped across my shoulder,
The crashing of the waves seemed distant,
With nary a word, I threw myself into his embrace,

And he held me in his arms, he held me so tight,
I pressed my face into his neck and sobbed and cried,
Then he spoke, his voice a warm baritone,
Whispering words of solace and comfort,
The smell of his cologne wafted over me
Like a warm and soft blanket of fragrance,
I closed my eyes and clung to him,
Knowing that he had faith in me,

I knew that he would never doubt me,
nor lose patience with my emotions,
He believed in what I say and what I do,
And I vowed to strive to do the same,
As I stood there in the warmth of his arms,
The world seemed so far away and removed,
Trust, pure and with no words to get in the way,
Our hearts united by the threads of faith.

BY Hegemony

8 thoughts on “Faith in Love

Leave a Reply

