Dawn

People go on with their lives, ignoring what is around them,
They are too busy with their tasks to spare even a thought,
To the glory of what is unfolding all around them,
They all have eyes but they don’t bother to see,
They all have ears but they don’t care to listen,

I sit in my car as I drive along to where I’m going,
Yet I can see and hear the joy that is to be known,
My heart leaps, spurred by fierce anticipation,
I see the steady brightening of the sky,
I hear the cheerful rejoicing of birds,

Then at last a beam of light breaches the horizon,
The first warm, golden rays of the rising sun,
I smile as I greet the coming of the dawn,
I behold the gift of a precious, new day,
I know better than to take it for granted.

4 thoughts on “Dawn

Leave a Reply

