A Fantasy of Love

I close my eyes and I remember sweeter times,
I recall how the sight of him set my mind ablaze,
I created a plan of how we would fall in love,
I observed him from afar, too nervous to approach,
Too frightened to reach out and chase my dreams,
But the dream I chased was nothing but a myth,
A fragile work of glass that could break so easily,
I realized that and so I kept watching from far away,
Too satisfied by a fantasy of love to peruse him,
My appetite was satisfied by the shadow of a lie,
Fear became an excuse to keep the dream alive,
And now I have to wonder, to ask myself what if,
What if I had gone after him?
What could have been?

 

BY Hegemony

2 thoughts on “A Fantasy of Love

Leave a Reply

