Where is the love?

So Monday I way out all day taking care of some important stuff for my mom. There was a lot of walking involved but I took the train a lot. I got on the D train (since I was coming off Brooklyn) trying to get home when this lady got on the train. She looked really bad, her cloths looked really wormed out and dirty. She then proceeded to ask us for money. She told us that her house had burn and what she was had nothing and was homeless. At the end of her story she was sobbing and all. Me and my mom felt bad but we didn’t have much money on us. As she pass by us to collect money my mom gave her a dollar. There was a bunch of loud mouth tanagers who were making fun of the lady and calling her out. I was really upset at those kids. What is so funny about a homeless lady? Kids these days just don’t have any respects for anyone. They were calling her a fraud and there was even one of them who actually caused her out. Look I not saying here that she wasn’t a fraud. She could have been I am this is NYC we are talking about here. The land of crooks and scammers. But ask yourself this humiliating her really necessary? Even if she was a scammer was she really better off with that money? Those scammers don’t even make as much money as people think. That is the reason why they are scammers in the fist place and why they stay scammer the rest of their lives because they live in poverty. I find myself fortunate enough that when I lose a dollar it doesn’t bother that much. Especially when that dollar is used to feed someone who can’t eat. It doesn’t bother me that much if that person lie to me to get my dollar because at the end of the day who cares how you got the money to feed your family and long as fed them. give that dollar wasn’t going to make me poorer than I already am. Keeping it doesn’t make me richer either. Scammer or not just think the amount of courage it requires to ask a bunch of strangers for money they probably won’t give you. That to me is as humiliating as it should get. When some punk decides to confirm that fear you about being cursed out, things can get as bad a suicide actions. Despite if what people might think most people begging for money aren’t actually scams. That  The facts still remains that 1 in 7 people living in New York suffers from hunger. That’s pretty depressing of you ask me. I am not saying you should be as “giving” as me and give a dollar to those people in the subway but the least you could do is shut your mouth and not humiliate people. I know some people thinks that helping people has to be with money but it’s not necessarily true. You can always volunteer at your local food bank or shelter. Just giving a few hours of you time per week can go a long way. Some people think that living in poverty is a choice have no clue what it’s like not being able to eat anything for dinner. What pissed me off the most if that a lot of people in the working class have all of those myths about poor people who aren’t true at all. Some people seriously think that you get all sort of free stuff from the government. They never bother to ask themselves obvious questions like if it’s so great living on welfare, why are they so many people dying from it? Sometimes I think that nobody cares about people anymore. They worry more about materialistic stuff and other issues that aren’t really all that important. I am dare you whoever you are to prove me wrong. Help somebody in need this month.

3 thoughts on “Where is the love?

Leave a Reply

